Arthur and Mary-Lynn

 

What does one do on a rainy day at the Manoir aux Visons when there is a blackout over at the Yoma and no campfires tales to tell? Playing with bits of paper of course.

An ode to Mary-Lynn, muse for the MinXus School of Beauty. Rightly so.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. minkrancher
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 12:56:25

    This must be Arthur Miller.

    Reply

  2. minxuslynxus
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 23:33:17

    Yes. Or Quentin? Quentin and Maggie from “After the Fall”.

    Reply

  3. minkrancher
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 01:14:36

    Now I have to wonder how you know these things. I’ve never seen nor read “After the Fall.” I have learned some things reading about it. Maybe “The Misfits” has more connection to the Mink Ranch.

    Reply

  4. minxuslynxus
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 01:22:06

    Last time I went to BookTown, a few months ago, I got an old issue of Time International, February 1964. On the front page there is a photo of Venice, full page, but the headline says “Marilyn’s Ghost – Arthur Miller writes about his shocking new play”. At that time I didn’t pay much attention to it, except for the black and white photos of the play that I found really nice. When you posted your poster about the School of Beauty I suddenly remembered I had that article. It made me want to know more about Miller, Marilyn etc…

    Reply

  5. minxuslynxus
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 01:23:11

    LIFE International, not Time International.

    Reply

  6. minkrancher
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 03:11:42

    The photography in those old LIFE magazines can be very good. Self-improvement is as important at the Mink Ranch as health & beauty.

    Reply

    • minxuslynxus
      Nov 25, 2012 @ 03:40:55

      Argg, it really annoys me that I cannot comment on Dw’s poem. Oh well. Tell the pip I like it a lot. Minkoo has offered to frame it, we’ll hang it up in the corridor at the entrance of the Manoir, beside the shoe cabinet.

      Reply

Leave a comment