Historic discourse between De Villo Sloan & performance artist tENTATIVELY, a cONVENIENCE (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA)

At 3:57pm on February 16, 2014, tENTATIVELY, a cONVENIENCE said…   

I see from my voluminous records that you sent me a “visual poetryesque book” called “Ourang-Outang” & that I sent you a “dop e #5-6 + note on Mad Scientist Radio + Widemouth Catalog” & that you were living in Auburn, AL at the time.  By the by, my “Poop & Pee Dog Copyright Violation Ceremony” was NOT a neoist performance (as you state somewhere here) but was part of the 3rd Convention of the Church & Foundation of the SubGenius.  I co-organized the Con, in Sept, 1983, & also organized the 7th International Neoist Apartment Festival that followed hot on its heels.  Both were in BalTimOre.  Monty Cantsin (Istvan Kantor) was in attendance at the Con &, of course, at the APT.  The living tongue of the Church of the SubGenius, Saint Janor Hypercleets, lingered on after the Con & also participated in the APT.  Otherwise, except for my participation in & organization of both, they were separate events.

At 4:37pm on February 16, 2014, De Villo Sloan said…

Dear tENTATIVELY, a cONVENIENCE,

It is a complete surprise, total pleasure, and a great honor to receive a message from you, albeit a correction concerning my fumbling researches to reconstruct events involving Neoism, Church of the SubGenius, and the disappearance of David Zack, etc.

I stand corrected concerning the facts surrounding the now legendary & notorious dog poop copyright infringement ceremony in Baltimore. In my assessment, this was the most important event of an era. I shall make every effort to rectify the errors that have already appeared in my writing – somehow.

Not to pass the buck, but Stewart Home has muddied the waters on this event in his book “The Assault on Culture,” placing the performance as he has in a critique of Neoism. The relation of the Church of the SubGenius to Neoism has always been a point of confusion for many.

You are, indeed, a meticulous record keeper. The documentation of your performances is an invaluable asset, second only, I think, to Mark Bloch’s archives.

Yes indeed. In the 1980s we corresponded. I too have a record of the exchanges as well as more work by you from the zines in my archives. Alas, I am not as well organized.

It is only these many years after the fact that I have come to understand and appreciate what I had gotten myself mixed up in.

Again, my deepest apologies if I am creating more confusion sorting through events that were part of The Great Confusion.

I hope we can remain “in touch” some way, somehow.

Deepest regards, De Villo Sloan

More about tentatively, a cONVENIENCE

http://idioideo.pleintekst.nl/

Leave a Reply

