MinXus Mail Bag: Asemic textural work by Claudia McGill (Wyncote, Pennsylvania, USA)

Claudia - texture - 1

Mail-art by Claudia McGill (Wyncote, Pennsylvania, USA)

We have been thrilled to share Claudia McGill’s work before at MinXus-Lynxus. The piece (above) is a special treat. The Mink Ranch is the perfect home for this work that showcases Claudia’s abilities for textures and layering. We even find asemic flourishes, all this done in a painterly way that incorporates recognizable elements found in much visual poetry. The contours and scratches on the surface of the piece, which cannot be captured in a scan, also add a haptic dimension. Claudia has eschewed in this work her usual collage themes. We believe the effort is a resounding success.

claudia - texture - 2

Deepest thanks, Claudia, for this most wondrous art.

Earlier MinXus-Lynxus posts of work by Claudia McGill:

https://minxuslynxus2.wordpress.com/2013/03/12/minxus-mail-bag-has-the-real-claudia-mcgill-wyncote-pennsylvania-usa-been-zip-locked-in-trashpo-hype/

And do not miss Claudia’s blog!

http://claudiamcgill.com/

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. suffolkrebecca
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 17:17:18

    Love the recycled ‘underpainting’ that seems to create a Diebenkornesque structure. The car stamp says California! All just perfect. Iconic American expressionist, sort of.

    Reply

  2. minkrancher
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 17:27:13

    With some Cy Twombly,,, CMG’s Trashpo roots are utilized well with the paint over, which really helps make the piece.

    Thanks!

    Reply

  3. Claudia McGill
    Apr 23, 2013 @ 12:50:22

    Thanks for posting. Now, you know, I got into this painting thing just to make backgrounds for collage work. People have been telling me that they like the painting part and to forget the collaging over it. I admit the idea was tempting. I had realized that more and more there were so many parts to the paintings that I didn’t want to cover up and – I was paying attention to how the paintings looked rather than slapping random paint around in the rush to get to the collage and – I liked doing the painting more than the collage. So I’m taking the leap, letting them be just paintings, show themselves, and come out of the chorus line to the starring part. Thanks for encouraging me.

    Still seems kind of collagey to me, though, as the ad card images/print always show through a bit. I like that. Layers. Layers. Everything is evolution, I guess.

    Once again, thanks for posting and for encouragment in this direction.

    Reply

  4. Claudia McGill
    Apr 23, 2013 @ 12:51:38

    Reblogged this on Claudia McGill and Her Art World and commented:
    Here is a mail art item I sent – painting on an ad card. I’vebeendoing more and more paintings like this – I really enjoy it. Something new for me.

    Reply

  5. minkrancher
    Apr 23, 2013 @ 13:43:04

    Claudia, it is indeed a very special piece. I posted it in the IUOMA Asemic Writing Group too, You have a great sense of texture, which definitely does come through with the collage backgrounds.

    (I am always going to tend to come at things from a visual poetry or asemic writing perspective, but there is much more going on in your piece too.)

    Rebecca and I have clearly both responded to the way you used the images underneath, Carina Granlund is doing some great work right now with coloured photos & postcards that are along the lines of what you did, although the result is very different.

    Thank you for choosing MinXus-Lynxus as a place to show a new direction!

    Reply

    • Claudia McGill
      Apr 24, 2013 @ 15:04:40

      Thanks for giving me the chance to show my work. I was just at the post office today and I found myself looking in their recycle bin for the junk mail people throw out from their post office boxes. I realized this is maybe not a good thing to be doing for a lot of reasons, so I stopped, but it was hard to tear myself away. This is what things have come to – I evaluate everything as to how it would look painted up. I’m not sorry, though.

      Reply

  6. minkrancher
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 20:38:30

    Claudia, maybe you just need to make a distinction between mail-art and other work you are doing. Remember mail-art is a genre with its own conventions & materials; inherently, it is produced quickly & inexpensively. Community is a goal in participating.

    Your approach to painting might be very different. Many people work in different areas and in different ways simultaneously. Don’t be so hard on yourself!

    Such as the piece blogged here, m-a is a great way to share “drafts” and ideas. You accomplished that exactly by sending me this. A bonus is I have an original Claudia MCG! What’s happening in this work might be fully realized in another form.

    Reply

  7. suffolkrebecca
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 14:01:02

    I couldn’t agree with you more – well put, mink ranger!

    Reply

  8. Trackback: MinXus Mail Bag: Claudia McGill (Wyncote, Pennsylvania, USA) | MinXus-Lynxus

Leave a Reply

