MinXus Saturday Night Bunk House Cinema Series: Howard Stern’s America’s Smartest Stripper Contest + the famous Warhol Jesus Phone Scene

We know. We know. Misogyny, grossness, exploitation. But should we re-evaluate Howard Stern, King of the Shock Jocks, as the modern iteration of the performance artist?

Oliver Stone’s portrayal seems so completely ludicrous (“I’m so bored…” “These people are vampires…”) but it still is the famous Jesus Phone scene:

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. minxuslynxus
    Mar 24, 2013 @ 07:00:56

    This is post #400!!
    Omedetoo!

    Reply

  2. minkrancher
    Mar 24, 2013 @ 21:56:19

    Empress, figures you’d be here at the stripper contest. Dw put that up and I’m fixin to make him take it down.

    Reply

  3. minxuslynxus
    Mar 24, 2013 @ 23:05:51

    Yea I had to see that slap on the butt 🙂
    Strange, my country doesn’t allow me to watch the Oliver Stone video, but no problem with the other one.

    Reply

  4. minkrancher
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 01:53:47

    The Stone clip is from the movie “The Doors.” I used to joke with Janine about the Jesus Phone, When I went back and watched the clip, I have to say I thought the scenes were terrible. Every Warhol cliche is jammed into it – including a clip from “Man Sleeping” projected on the wall.

    I will get on my high horse with this one. Suddenly (waste case) Jim Morrison & Robbie Krieger become these red-blooded, innocent California guys dazzled and befuddled by the Warhol decadence that is somehow made vaguely European by whoever is playing Nico. The hallucination of the Indian indicates Jim moving irrevocably toward his early demise as he walks down the hall to meet Andy. What? Andy Warhol killed Jim Morrison?

    But you know with Oliver Stone’s even more confused Kennedy movie, maybe Andy Warhol killed JFK too.

    This is Dw’s fault! Someone else is going to select the Saturday night movies.

    Reply

  5. Dark wall
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 01:59:03

    Take this job and shove it Rancher. I quit,

    Reply

  6. minxuslynxus
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 03:12:01

    I think I should select the next Saturday night movie.

    Reply

  7. minkrancher
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 12:03:15

    Empress Marie will be guest hostess of next week’s MinXus Cinema Series.

    Reply

  8. minxuslynxus
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 22:33:52

    Uh-Oh… did I bite off more than I can chew? Of course I did.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

