The MinXus-Lynxus Friday Night Bunk House Cinema Series: “The Making of Aja”

What’s not to like? Steely Dan – the band that was never really a band – two kids at Bard College with a dream pick a title from Naked Lunch – they leave NY for LA to make a masterpiece – fire eight of the world’s greatest studio guitarists over a minute-long solo – drag in trash cans from the alley and beat on them because they don’t like the sound of the drums – an amazing retrospective – happy ending

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. suffolkrebecca
    Mar 16, 2013 @ 17:50:21

    I’ve watched the first few minutes now and am hooked. I wish I had more time right now, but I will come back to it. Steely Dan was the wallpaper of a particular time in my life and I think I still have three or four of their albums (that I carried with me to England) now, up in the attic, probabaly warped out of recognition. And, for some reason, I know very little about them. Lately Patrick has been watching a series about musicians. The one on Lou Reed was fabulous. I wonder if this is part of that series?

    Reply

  2. minkrancher
    Mar 16, 2013 @ 19:12:10

    Miss Becca, the Bunk House Cinema is not one of our more popular features, although this has to be better than last week’s 10 hours of tv static.

    I like Steely Dan, but the production of Aja has fascinated me in particular. Of course there are the jazz and R&B players, In the days of vinyl when it was first released, they sought with Aja to eliminate what was known as “vinyl fatigue” by adding so many layers that no matter how much you listen, you keep hearing new things. I think it really succeeds.

    The stories about how the sessions became unhinged as they strove for greater-than perfection are urban legends, and the long-awaited documentary sets the record straight, for anyone who followed it.

    Everything then was done on tape, and there are stories of yards and yards of tape winding through the studios and offices with people trying to cut out small sections needed for the tracking, but that’s not discussed.

    Reply

  3. suffolkrebecca
    Mar 16, 2013 @ 20:47:04

    Fascinating. You know a thing or two.

    Reply

  4. minkrancher
    Mar 17, 2013 @ 00:09:18

    Most of it completely useless.

    Walter Becker (1/2 of SD) was notorious for writing crank letters to the New York Times. They are absolutely hysterical. They can be found online. I’ll see if I can rustle up a link.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

