Brain Cell #837 – Featuring Dark wall’s original MinXus stamps

 

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. minxuslynxus
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 22:45:04

    What do you make of this, Minkoo?

    Reply

  2. Minkoo
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 22:47:35

    Hmmm, mixed feelings, really. Or not so mixed. Why are the MinXus stamps always so over-contrasted on Brain Cell? You can’t see a thing anymore. All the other stamps looks just…normal and fine. I don’t get it.

    Reply

  3. minxuslinxus
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 22:50:07

    That’s right. I thought so too. It doesn’t do justice to Dark wall’s work. And also, I’m a bit tired of seeing the same big boobs on every Brain Cell.

    Reply

    • minkrancher
      Sep 29, 2012 @ 11:10:27

      I haven’t minded the distortions of the MinXus-Lynxus stamps in the Brain Cell issues. I think of them as variations or something.

      Reply

    • trick sensei
      Oct 04, 2012 @ 23:14:25

      which is minxus and which is dark walls? if you don’t mind me asking.

      Reply

      • minxuslinxus
        Oct 05, 2012 @ 01:49:30

        Hello Trick sensei san, thank you for dropping by!
        MinXus is Dark wall is MinXus.
        Dark wall has designed the first MinXus stamps, which I call the original ones, about a year ago, and I have been using them ever since on almost all my mail. They are the ones at the bottom right corner. My favorite one is MinXus Alsace because the mink is wearing a big crown. I still think it is over the top contrasted here.

      • minkrancher
        Oct 05, 2012 @ 08:46:05

        Howdy Trick Sensei, works for me, Empress. Further – Dark wall is affiliated with MinXus NY (or MinXus USA).

      • tricksensei
        Oct 09, 2012 @ 08:05:10

        thank you for this information

  4. Minkoo
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 22:51:57

    Right ho. Maybe we should give Brain Cell a little break.

    Reply

    • tricksensei
      Oct 09, 2012 @ 08:04:06

      indeed, brain cell is a great great thing and ryosuke has put so much energy into this grand project. One must wonder if you would prefer to have been left out.

      Reply

  5. minxususa
    Sep 29, 2012 @ 00:44:06

    Brain Cell put us right next to E.F. Higgins – that’s Dick Higgins’ son. (Sometimes I wish I didn’t know this stuff.)

    Reply

  6. Minkoo
    Sep 29, 2012 @ 01:50:19

    Why? it’s very good you know this stuff! I didn’t notice, and I wouldn’t have known anyway! I was too absorbed in my own disappointment. Now that I know this fact I’m a bit happier.

    Reply

  7. minkrancher
    Sep 29, 2012 @ 14:48:33

    Now EF Higgins – he was part of the Neo gang too. Theys gettin too close for comfort, Empress.

    Reply

    • tricksensei
      Oct 09, 2012 @ 07:59:55

      what do you speak of
      “neo gang”?$?

      Reply

      • minkrancher
        Oct 09, 2012 @ 09:38:44

        Not sure what you know, TS.

        Neo was an avant movement with a heavy mail-art presence mostly in the 80s & 90s. In fact, they had a big presence in Seattle and Portland.

        I thought Neo had played itself out a long time ago, but it seems some of the members are still active.

      • tricksensei
        Oct 09, 2012 @ 18:01:08

        thank you minkrancher, I just got some mail art from A. Neoist and was curious of its meaninig.

      • minkrancher
        Oct 09, 2012 @ 22:36:12

        Glad you inquired, TS. Yes, saw your A. Neoiste posting at Yoma. Something is stirring among the Neoists. Medwolf has started his effort to find the truth about David Zack’s disappearance circa 1995. Zack was a Neo founder and spent a good bit of time in Portland. MinXus will soon release our own report on Zack. Karen Eliot is one floating Neoist identity as is Monty Cantsin.

        I’ll email you some links via Yoma. There’s a ton of stuff about Neoism.

  8. minxuslinxus
    Sep 29, 2012 @ 23:36:34

    Oh dear. I see….

    Reply

  9. minkrancher
    Sep 30, 2012 @ 00:32:44

    Now don’t worry Empress. E.F. seems a straight shooter. He’s over at Yoma. He hangs mostly with the Fluxus folks, as you’d spect. He was involved with Monty & the Apartment Fests back in the day. Was in NYC. Dont know why he’s got an art school in Michigan. No big deal.

    Reply

  10. tricksensei
    Oct 09, 2012 @ 07:54:06

    in my opinion, bolder lines work better for ryosuke’s printing machine. the work is still very nice, I’m just a huge brain cell fan these days

    Reply

Leave a Reply

