“Parolette” by Dark wall – asemic poetry, visual poetry, concrete poetry

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. minxuslynxus
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 23:34:50

    Is the twist from parrotlet to parolette Dw’s twist or does the word really exist in english? The word parolette doesn’t exist (per se) in french, but it could mean “little word” (feminine), which is a nice wordplay.

    Reply

  2. minxususa
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 01:45:35

    Empress, “Parolette” is a made up word for you & to use the Master Language we will all speak after the Tangerine Oncoming.

    I was, indeed, trying for wordplay but it isn’t what I intended I don’t think. Parrot in English and “parole” in French are very similar. Parrots, of course, are known for being able to imitate human speech, so I tried to invent a word based on parole and parrot – but I got sidetracked in to paroquette in French. If I have created some kind of gibberish, I could not hope for more.

    There is a drawing of a parrot inlaid in the vispo. I don’t know if you can make it out.

    It all started because long ago I read an essay on Flaubert – it must have been about “A Simple Heart” – that was going on and on about “parole” in Flaubert and the usual, you know, Flaubert invented Deconstruction or something. “A Simple Heart” has a parrot in it, and at the end of the story the parrot appears as this gigantic vision in the sky – like the Tangerine Oncoming, or the Tangerine Mink. I’m not sure if that author or I actually made the connection between the parrot and parole. And I’m not 100% sure the essay or book exists or I dreamed it.

    Reply

  3. minxuslynxus
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 02:15:34

    I can’t see the drawing of the parrot, but… you have managed to link MinXus, Flaubert, Human/non-human Speech, Parrots, the Tangerine Oncoming, all this in one single word which, on top of it, is a wordplay that works both in English and in French. I have only one parole: wow.

    Reply

  4. minkrancher
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 08:16:35

    I can’t believe you can’t see the parrot.

    Reply

  5. minkrancher
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 18:12:52

    Gosh darn it. Don’t make me re-shoot that thing for the third time. You can see the parrot plain as day in the upper-right quarter.

    Reply

  6. minxuslynxus
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 22:31:39

    isn’t that just a dried ink stain? You mean, that round thing separated from the rest of the body would be his head?Oh, OK, wait… wait… I think I can see the beak? There?
    I’m just kidding, Rancher.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

