Catching up with Bruno Neiva (Coruna, Spain)

Bruno Neiva is a gifted visual poet whom I first encountered in 2011 while working on the Asemics 16 collaborative book project at the International Union of Mail-Artists (IUOMA). I have three sets of mail-art from Bruno that I have not blogged until now. The first set piece is from 2011:

Bruno has a firm grounding in semiotics and post-structuralism, and theory from those areas inform his work, as is revealed in this visual poem. Here is the reverse side:

The somewhat weathered envelope provides a date, if you can make it out:

T

These next pieces takes me back to Asemics 16 discussions about asemic writing and found material posted by John M. Bennett that was, if not truly asemic, then asemic suggestive. I think those discussions had an impact on Bruno Neiva too:

The narrow piece on the left is a great example of Bruno’s minimalist work. The piece on right has extraordinary texture. The lines and random structures formed are suggestive of writing, and I think this is the primary intent of the work. Here are the reverse sides:

One of the things I admire about Bruno Neiva’s work is his ability to constantly push the boundaries of visual poetry and asemic writing, and he is able to do it with incredible simplicity and economy – to the degree that he often enters the realm of anti-art and anti-poetry. Here is the envelope:

This retrospective of Bruno Neiva’s work is inspired by the much more recent work he sent below:

I think Bruno’s work derives from a conscious awareness of context and the establishment of relations, first within the work and then the relationship of the work to the world. It’s not surprising that his view of language has led him to a word/image lexicon concept.

Here is the more recent envelope:

While he experiments with a wide variety of forms, Bruno Neiva’s work tends to be minimalist and highly conceptual. If you allow yourself time to reflect on the work carefully, he offers tremendous insight into the nature of language. Ultimately, the apparent anti-art stance is deceptive – even if, for instance, he is using found material – there is a highly informed aesthetic here and not much left to chance.

Out of many visual poets whose work I do my best to follow, I personally find Bruno Neiva to be one of the most original as well as deeply perceptive.

I am glad we have been able to re-connect, and I greatly appreciate having this work.

You can see much more of Bruno Neiva’s work on his blog:

http://umaestruturaassimsempudor.blogspot.com/

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Minkoo
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 09:27:01

    Nice! BECAUSEITIS. I don’t know why but that just works. I should go and check out his blog again. Minimal looks easy but it’s all the contrary I think, very few people can get this kind of result. He can.

    Reply

  2. minkrancher
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 13:23:29

    I could not agree more. When someone sends you wrinkled, waxed paper as Trashpo, that’s exactly what it is. So it’s easy to put Bruno Neiva in that category – if you just take the work at face value.

    He is a rare case of someone who can use minimalism to get positive results. His economy, I daresay, is almost classical. Definitely one of the better ones working today.

    I’ll add a link to his blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

